Thursday, October 21, 2021

Search News Releases

News Releases

Kayla O'Brien
/ Categories: News Releases

Hoosiers to be Recognized for Service to Public, Legal Profession and Civic Education

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Bar Foundation will honor nine individuals and three organizations dedicated to the delivery of pro bono legal services, civic education, service to the legal profession and the public at its recognition dinner December 9, 2018.

Civil Justice Honorees

Leslie Parrish, Bloomington, will receive the Pro Bono Publico Award for her help with the Indiana Legal Services Low-Income Tax Clinic. Since 2015, Parrish has eliminated thousands of dollars in tax liabilities and provided over 1,000 hours of volunteer legal services. Her Spanish language fluency assists the most vulnerable populations, including immigrants, low-income and senior citizen clients.

The Fort Wayne office of Faegre Baker Daniels LLP will also receive the Pro Bono Publico Award for its dedication to the development and delivery of legal services to indigent residents. Collectively, the office contributed over 100 hours to Indiana Free Legal Answers in the last two years and over 1,000 attorney pro bono hours in 2017.

Legal, Judicial Professionals Selected for Fellows

The Fellows exemplify the highest standards of professionalism, legal acumen, service to the community and the profession. The four Fellows selected exemplify service to the profession and the public – whether through local or state bar association leadership, mentorship of other lawyers or civic and community organizations. They are: Edward Beck, Fort Wayne; Catheryne Pully, Indianapolis; Hon. Heather Welch, Indianapolis; and Hon. Richard Young, Evansville.

Additional honorees include:




John Patrick Award for Civic Education

Christopher Cavanaugh

Bismark, ND

William Baker Award for Civic Education

Carl Hayes


Law-Related Education Award

Robert Leming


Law-Related Education Award

Evansville Bar Association


Law-Related Education Award

Hamilton County Bar Association


Randall T. Shepard Award for Excellence in Pro Bono

Hon. Kimberly Dowling


Read more about each honoree here.

Award winners will be recognized Sunday, December 9, 2018 from 6:00-8:30 p.m. in Indianapolis. Single reservations are $25.00 and tables of eight are available for $200.00 until November 30. Contact Kayla O’Brien at 317-608-6502 or purchase your reservation online.

The Indiana Bar Foundation’s mission is to strengthen appreciation for the rule of law and civic education for all Hoosiers. The Foundation is a nonprofit that educates tomorrow’s leaders, expands civil justice and aids the legal profession.

Previous Article Indiana Bar Foundation Elects New President, Board Members
Next Article Bill of Rights Debated by 8th, 12th Graders



Indiana Bar Foundation
615 N. Alabama St. #426
Indianapolis, IN 46204
(317) 269-2415



Copyright 2021 by Indiana Bar Foundation Terms Of Use Privacy Statement
Back To Top